Monday, July 14, 2014

NLAA announces the 2014 Hall of Fame inductees

Athletics Press Release ---------------- contact Dee Murphy – 722-2137

Four new members have been elected to the provincial Athletics Hall of Fame.  The four will be inducted into the Hall during a reception at the Mount Pearl Track and Field Complex, Thursday, July 17.

Athlete George Crane, builder Murray Fudge, athlete Mark Stender and builder-athlete Jennifer Stender are the four new members named by provincial athletics president Bob Walsh.  Fudge is from Gambo - Gander and the others are from St. John’s.

“All four individuals have outstanding records of achievements and contributions to athletics and will add greatly to the prestige that the Hall of Fame enjoys”, Walsh said.  “There are many others with similar records who deserve to be nominated for hall of fame membership, and interested individuals are urged to submit nominations in the near future.”

Murphy of St. John’s is selection committee chair with Ben Dunne and Don Coaker, both of Mount Pearl, other members of the committee.
This is the tenth induction for the Athletics Hall of Fame.